skip navigation
2018 Men's Masters 35 Recreational Division National Champion Miller Lite (Fargo)

Fargo Miller Lite repeats as Men’s Masters 35 Recreational Division National Champs

By RC Courtright, 08/28/18, 7:15PM CDT


Dominating run results in back-to-back titles

Coming off a championship in their own backyard in 2017 when the tournament was held in Fargo, Miller Lite entered this year’s event in Mandan as the favorite….ultimately living up to that mantle. As they did a year earlier, the defending champs surged early, stumbled late, but bounced back, this time to win title number 2.

Miller Lite strolled through the early rounds of the tournament, dominating their first 3 games by a combined score of 62-18. The last obstacle in the winner’s bracket, however, stunned them. Wahpeton Wombats prevailed 18-14 to send Miller Lite into the loser’s bracket.

It didn’t take long to set up the rematch, though, with Miller Lite earning their second consecutive double-digit victory over Krahler’s Softball. At that point, they were not going to be stopped. Wins of 14-5 and 19-12 over the Wombats earned them another championship banner.

Brian Quam was the star of the show, earning the Most Valuable Player award by, in part, bashing more home runs that any other batter in the tournament. Quam was not alone in earning individual accolades as Bill Footit repeated as the tournament’s batting champion.

Photos courtesy Mandan Softball Association.